It’s always been you – Chapter 1

The day I met you – Ann

“Why do we have to leave our house?” I asked my mom, half sobbing, and half expecting probably Mom would agree with me and we would stay here happily. “Ann..enough of this, we’ve already had this discussion million times. You know your Dad has whole lot of opportunities in North Carolina with his friend. Our life would be so much better there, and don’t you worry, Uncle David has a son who is of your age, in no time you’ll be friends, he is a charming lad. And of course you’ll enjoy the snow there in winter, that you can never get to see here”
“Mom, new school is never so fun, and I would miss Granpu so much and he is not even here, why does he have to be in Italy?” I choked down the lump in my throat, I never wish to leave my Granddaddy, I love him so much. “Granpu will visit every once in a while and probably just be with us on our summer vacations. His trip was planned a year back, all money paid, he cannot cancel it just because we pre pond our shifting. Remember Annette, the early you accept, the better. And now I don’t wish to discuss this again, so better pack your remaining stuff, the Movers’ van would arrive in no time” with this she left the room and I shed few more tears hugging my sugglebear but then I knew I had to pack. So I did as I was told, and van was at the door in half an hour. We drove to North Carolina in our Volkswagon Touareg and reached in approximately 10 hours.

The moment I laid my eyes on our new home, I realised it was actually not a bad idea moving here. The house was pretty big, a duplex it is with a well maintained lawn and play area with mini version of swings, slide and a seesaw, but appropriate for a 11 year old kid like me. I was more than happy and weather was pretty cold since in Florida it was scorching heat usually by this hour. We entered our mini palace and I gladly squeezed snugglebear because what was inside was way better than our home back in Florida. There was a huge living room with a plush couch that was calling me, and I just ran and pounced on it. I had this wide grin plastered on my face and I knew this was a very good decision. ‘I Love you mom and dad’. Mom led me to the kitchen and showed me the place, it was shiny black marble and beige walls. I could see my mom had tears in her eyes, and I knew she loved this house as much as I did. She is a great cook and our kitchen back home wasn’t that great, it was small room. My Dad followed us and embraced Mom in a hug, they kissed and I swooned just looking at them. Most kids don’t like their parents cuddling and romancing, but I loved to see them and I one day wish I too would get someone like my Dad. My Mom and Dad were high school sweethearts and I am proud of them. Soon I was engulfed in a family hug and I was grinning all the while. In the middle of our family time the door bell rang, and my Dad excused to get it. Now I could hear some voices from the living room of laughter and greetings. Mom straightened her skirt and combed my hair with her fingers. We went back to the living room and Dad introduced me to our neighbours ‘The Vaughans’ who happens to be my Mom and Dad’s high school best friends. They four were a group and each married their high school love.
Mrs.Vaughan was very pretty and I liked her because her smile was sweet and she got us blueberry cheese cake as a token of welcoming us to the neighbourhood. Mr.Vaughan was handsome with dark brown hair and deep green eyes that crinkled at the ends. He must be of my Dad’s age and Dad and Mr.Vaughan aka Uncle David seems pretty close to each other. My Mom and Dad are pretty friendly, unlike me. I never had a best friend ever back home, just few girls I talked to. Boys, well I hate them because they always picked at me, pulled my hair and called me names. Especially Gosh, he was one bad boy, and he was that one thing that was a reason I considered moving to California.

Mrs. Vaughan aka Aunt Gracy called out “Shawnnn.. what are you doing outside? “. A voice replied back “Nothingg”.
“So why don’t you come inside and meet out neighbours”. And there was no reply, but a minute later a boy entered whose head was low and who refused to look up. A moment later he dragged himself and plopped on our couch. A studied him for a while, he looked better than the boys back home, and he has the same hair as Aunt Gracy, a lighter shade of brown, brunette is a better term. His eyes was brilliant shade of green but when his eyes met mine, they looked bluer, just like ocean. I think he has got eye color of both his Mom Dad and that made his eyes more beautiful, a unique shade. He kept staring at me, and I continued to stare, moreover studying this boy, I have no idea how I could do this, I never had this confidence before to stare at a boy. Finally my Mom said “Ann, why don’t you show Shawn our house?”and I had to look away from him and towards my Mom. “But Mom I haven’t seen the house myself”
“Then Shawn, why don’t you show our place to Annette?” Aunt Gracy said.
“Okay” is all Shawn replied and walked ahead towards the door. As if on cue I hurried behind him and followed him. He didnt say a word and I sheepishly followed. The moment we entered his placed I was hit by the smell of baking and chocolate. I was sniffing when he noticed me and offered “Would you like to have some chocolate cookies? Mom just made them and my Mom is a great cook”.
I nodded and he handed me a plate with 4cookies. I took a small bite and the flavour filled my mouth and I took another big bite. I was chewing mouthful of cookie when he asked “Would you like to play a game?”
I said “yes” that sounded like “yeffff” and few cookie crumbs flew out of my mouth, embarrased I covered my mouth. He found it amusing and he smirked. He asked me to follow him to his room and I did. And his room was way to good. He had an enormous water bed, a bean bag, a study table that was nearly maintained. Either he is a neat freak or he never studies. I was strolling in his room, touching everything. It was beautiful, and neat. He had a television mounted on his wall and he handed me the gaming console.
“Oh God, you have your own television? That’s so cool”
“Yeah its cool but well its child locked and I am only allowed to watch specific channels and till 10pm. My Mom controls it, it’s switch is at her room”
“Still your own TV and a water bed. You are one lucky boy” he simply blushed and said “What would you play Annette? I don’t have much of girls game as I dont have friends who are girls. You can select yourself”
“Ohmigod, you have Rise of the Demons? Can we play that?”

Leave a Reply

