Book Review: Winter Longing by Tricia Mills

Why love if losing hurts so much?
We love to know that we are not alone.
-C. S. Lewis

Where there is love, there is life.
-M. K. Gandhi

A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become superflous.
-Ingrid Bergman

 

These are some of the quotes from this book, which made me feel raw and as vulnerable as Winter Craig. This book is a heartwarming, and made me feel like I can relate to it. There was nothing I found could not happen. Some times I felt “Aww” while others I could feel the stinging teardrop at the back of my eyes. My heart ached for Winter for her loss of her first crush, and only love, her best friend Spencer.

I liked the way the author made small flashbacks after every chapter till the pain of Spencer’s loss was vivid. The writing was clear and nothing made me distract from the situation.

I loved the characters, Winter, Jesse, and Spencer. I could imagine them.

The story begins with Winter confessing her long time crush to Spencer, who too felt the same. They share their first few dreamy kisses. But Spencer’s plane crashes the next day. The story flows with the pain Winter feels, the slight attraction towards Jesse who is very kind to her, and the guilt she faces for moving on.

A very beautiful, heartwarming, a bit painful raw emotions, and bit fluffy story I would recommend.

Happy Reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

