Short Story – Come with me (Part 3)

After 15 minutes I received an email,

Dated: 1st March, 2014

Dear Miss Juliana DeThomas
Congratulations! We are pleased to confirm that you have been selected to work for Brown Constructions. We are delighted to make you the following job offer. The position we are offering is that of Assistant Architect at a salary of $12,000 per month. This position reports to the lead Architect and in few cases the Managing director. Your working hours will be based on the city you work in. This is a permanent position.  

Benefits Information is explained in detail in the attached file. We would like you to start work on 1st April, 2014 at 9.00 am. Please report to Mr. Michael Brooks, for documentation and orientation. If this date is not acceptable, please contact me immediately. Please sign the enclosed copy of this letter and return it to me by 5th March 2014, to indicate your acceptance of this offer. We are confident you will be able to make a significant contribution to the success of our Company and look forward to working with you.

Sincerely,
James McDonald
Human Resources
Brown Constructions

I immediately received a call from Stace, and she was again squeaking in her highest pitch, “Thank you so much Juel, you saved my job..I love you so damn much”
“Love you too Stace, tell me what happened? ”
“I received a call from Brown Brothers & Co. that my deal is finalized, and the deal which initially was meant to be of quarter of a million dollars, is now of 35 million dollars, and I am being promoted to be the lead Accountant of my firm. wooo hooooo” and she was screaming to the highest of decibels.
“Ok Stace, calm down, else you may pass out in mid of this call”
“Haha, not gonna happen”
I received a text and I checked, it was from Jonathan.
“Hey Stace, call you back in sometime, I need to text back”
“Aha..whose?”
“Jonathan’s, must be related to offer letter. Call you back”
“Sure thing, and I would come by noon tomorrow, so see you”
“See you, Bye”
“Buhbye”
And as I hung up, I read that text.

Dear Ms. Juliana,
I hope you received the offer letter, if you have any doubts or issues do feel free to ask. If you are content with everything, please sign it and email it back to all the recipients.

Jonathan.

********************************

Dear Mr. Jonathan,
Thank you so much for the offer letter and all the kindness, I am fully content with the offer letter and I would reply back by tomorrow, as I would need to print the letter and I do not own a printer.

Juliana.

********************************

I was expecting a reply, when I got his call, it was 5.30 pm and I was wondering wasn’t he supposed to be on his flight. I adjusted my voice, and answered.
“Hello Sir”
“Jonathan”
“Hi Jonathan”
“Hey Juel, I have few minutes before I need to rush to my flight, so I thought I better give you a call. You need not worry,  you can reply back to email for now, as of confirmation. Later, you can sign and send.”
“Oh, thank you”
“Also, we have sites in New York, and one in Australia, which I am inaugurating next weekend. Where would you like to work? ”
“Is it really my preference?”
“Ofcourse, but you may have to go to other places when required, but your primary location is your choice.”
“This decision would mainly depend upon the kind of work. If Australia has something extraordinary, I wouldn’t mind working there”
“That’s very pleasant response, I would let you know of the details of the site once you sign the letter, and I would expect you to include me in CC of your resignation letter. ”
“Yes Sure Sir, I definitely would”
“See you soon Juel, and talk to you later”
“See you, Have a safe journey”
“Thank you”
And we hung up, while his voice still lingering in my ears. He has this husky yet mellow voice, that makes me loose myself. I flushed at the thought of his eyes gazing at me. I immediately called Stace back to tell her what offer he gave me.
“Stace, Jonathan had let me choose my job location, isn’t it great,  I can even choose Australia”
“Juel, not that I want to distract you, but don’t you think he kind of likes you? ”
I flushed scarlet, and I was thanking God that Stace was not in front of me to see me blush this bad.
“Oh Shut up, don’t talk garbage”
“Yeah I may be talking shit, but come on, do you think he calls and texts his every employee? Thousands of employees? ”
“He does talks to you”
“No, only once he talked to me, rest I always communicated with his PA.”
“Hmph, I better not think this way, I would be joining for work, or should I not join? ”
“Hey babes, not changing your decision, I was just thinking in all directions, anyway maybe I am wrong, don’t think much”
“Yea Stace, I miss you, wish we could go out together, now that we both have such good news”
“I am coming tomorrow, we can party hard”
“Yeah see you, give my warm regards to Mrs. McCains”
“Sure will, bye love”
“bye”
And the rest of the day, I kept on thinking,  rereading the conversation. I still had doubts if I should join so I didn’t emailed back. It was a big day, and I went to bed early as I was exhausted with so much information processing.

4 thoughts on “Short Story – Come with me (Part 3)

  1. dloretimnidian says:

    It’s a lovely, beguiling little story, a rare treat, which is also an unusual example of a follow-up that doesn’t seem forced, but expands effortlessly on the original.
    A vibrant, light spirited story, elegantly and effortlessly narrated.
    Waiting for sequels…
    Recently I’ve written a short story, it is sort of dark comedy, which is new for me too. I’d appreciate feedback:
    http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-unusual-experience/story-black-comedy-confession-of-a-serial-killer/

Leave a Reply

