Short Story – Come with me (Part 2)

By the time I reached my apartment, I had already recalled my meeting with Jonathan over and over. Was this really happening? Should I accept his job proposal? Should I call him? I was not in my senses, and I couldn’t call Stacey. She has already asked me to join his company. I needed someone to convince me to not to, else there was no way I can refuse. I know even if I join his company I would hardly see him, so it is not a bad idea if I join the Brown Constructions. He had something magnetic in his gaze that I feared; scared that I would fall for someone out of my league. So to clear my head from these thoughts, I called mom.
“Hey mom”
“Hi sweetheart, all fine?” Why is my mom so telepathic. “Yes Mom I am great, how’s Dad?”
“He is stuck to his TV, what else does he do on weekends, but yes he is fine. You tell me you sound low” Oh come on, I am not low.
“No Mom, all good, I am just confused. ”
“Over what?”
“I’ve got a job opportunity, not sure if I should go for it?”
“Where is it?”
“Brown Constructions”
“That’s a big organisation. Why are you not sure? Are they offering low?”
“No Mom, they are offering me double”
“Whoa! So what’s the deal? Sending you some far off site?”
“No Mom, I would most likely be in New York”
“Wow that’s great, so what’s bothering you sweetheart? ”
“Nothing Mom, I just feel I don’t deserve it”
“Sweetheart don’t weigh yourself low, you are way too talented”
“Thanks Mom, you helped me clear my head. Love you”
“Love you too my baby. Take care”
“You too” And we hung up. I felt better after talking to Mom, she asked me questions I wouldn’t ask myself. So I checked the time, it was 4.05 pm and I knew he would be leaving New York by 6 pm, so I confidently dialed the number printed on his Business Card. He answered after two full rings.
“Hello” His voice sounded so stern, I almost lost the volume of my voice. After a moment I replied, “Hi Sir, this is Juliana DeThomas”
“Oh Hi Juliana, seems you have made up your mind” And his voice mellowed.
“Yes Sir, I am ready to take up your offer. Thank you.”
“Great, so when can you join?”
“I would need to serve one month notice period in my current firm.”
“Can’t you join earlier? I may offer some bonus.” Oh God, what do I say?
“I would try to negotiate my notice terms, though I can’t be so sure about it.”
“So when would you put down your papers in your current firm?”
“Monday, but I would need some assurance from your end, an offer letter?”
“Sure, when can you meet me? I can give you your offer letter and salary breakup in next 30 minutes”. My Goodness, I can’t meet him now.
“Today? Can’t you email me?”
“Sure I can” And I felt a bubble of relief in my heart.
“So text me your current monthly pay and your email address”
“Sure Sir, Thank you again for everything.”
He replied with a chuckle “The pleasure is all mine” And we hung up. His last words echoed in my head. Not to over think everything, I flush his thoughts and type the text:

Sir,
My current monthly pay is $6000. My email address is ‘juel1804@gmail.com’

Thank you.
Juliana DeThomas

and sent him. His reply was prompt.

Miss,
Juel is a sweet nickname. And your pay now would be $12000 per month. Is that your birth date?

Your Sir.

Now this is awkward, but I got to reply him.

Jonathan,
Thank you for the compliment and the big raise. And yes it is my birth date.

Juliana DeThomas

*************************************
Juel,
You are most welcome. So in a month it’s your birthday.

Jonathan
*************************************

Jonathan,
Yes it’s my birthday in a month. Not a big deal.

Juliana
*************************************

Juel,
You’ll get your offer letter in like 20 minutes.

Jonathan
*************************************

Thank you.
Juliana.

And so I didn’t get any replies. I know there was nothing he can reply to my last message, nor did he mean anything, but I have already read our conversation zillionth time.

There was something wrong with me, but I was excited to work with such big a company,  and also with him.

4 thoughts on “Short Story – Come with me (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

