I wish I was there with you

A Tale of two Cities

It was the first month of my new job as a Sr. Technical Editor at the Times, my dream job. I’ve worked hard enough to be here. I was over enthusiastic about my work, I had a perfect boyfriend, I was in love with my life. It was great until one evening, after I got back home, Steve was abnormally quiet. I asked him, what’s eating him, but he didn’t say a word. Later when we sat to dine, he finally said in a low and scarcely audible voice “I have been promoted”
“What??”
“You heard me”
“You kidding me? You have such an awesome news, and you are so low?” and I was grinning joyfully.
“I need to shift to San Francisco, for a 5year Bridge Project.” And my smile faded.
“How can they suddenly ask you to shift? They should have told you a month prior!”
“I was well aware of it, but I didn’t know if I would get an opportunity.”
Then, there it was a deadly silence.
‘I didn’t know what to say, how to react, was this the end? Would he not take this opportunity? No no, he definitely should. And I know he would. Why didn’t he tell me before? He was avoiding this confrontation? Hmpph. Should I leave my job? But I would always regret losing my dream job. What do I do? Argghh, why did this happen
now?’
He finally broke the silence and pulled me from my reverie, “So would we be able to pull off this long distance thingy or we should,
ahemm, call it off?”

I could only manage a weak smile, my world was falling in front of my eyes, and I felt handcuffed. A tear pricked at the side of my eye, and I was controlling hard enough to maintain my equilibrium. I don’t wish to weaken him and change his decision. Probably he has already made his choice. We finished our meals silently, and didn’t say a word over it.

The next day, he said he has to leave this Friday for San Francisco to look for his accommodation and from next week he’ll have to work there. ‘This is so sudden, that I feel oxygen is being sucked out of my body. It’s like I am losing sand from my palm, it’s quick and I have no control over my it.’ Words fail me now, and I am making no more attempts to fix this, I’ve silently agreed to his decision. Probably we ain’t meant to be. And as quick as it seemed, he flew to San Francisco. The same job was now boring. I was apathetic towards my job and life, it was incomplete without him. I was absorbed in his thoughts.  I am here at New York and I so want to be with him, at San Francisco.

2 thoughts on “I wish I was there with you

Leave a Reply

