Poem – The Remembrance

I still remember, the feel of raindrops on my skin
The dripping of droplets, the splashing of water on the streets

Building paper boats, racing them in the water flow
Hustling on the muddy streets, jumping in the puddles

Now I sit in my porch, witness the beauty
Water surging down the leaves, the waving of the trees.

I wish dancing in the rain, soaking the joy
Carefree of the world, apathy of the judgements

But I am sluggish and I renounce
I stifle my acts, I strangle my passions

Always on the qui vive, forsake my longings
Because I am no more myself but a version of a person others want me to be.

Leave a Reply

